We welcome feedback and are actively working on improving every aspect of the product, from user experience to the protocol security by removing most of the following limitations.

Groups

For now, encrypted messages can only be sent to a single recipient. We’ll soon be expanding this feature to group conversations.

Content

An encrypted message can only include text and links; media and other attachments are not supported yet. When users attempt to send media via an encrypted conversation, this action will not be completed. Reactions to encrypted messages are also encrypted. Also, while messages themselves are encrypted, metadata (recipient, creation time, etc.) are not, and neither is any linked content (only links themselves, not any content they refer to, is encrypted).

New devices

Currently, new devices cannot join existing encrypted conversations. Existing encrypted conversations and the messages in the conversation will be filtered out on new devices that you log into. If you try to access an existing encrypted conversation on a new device via new message flow, it will show an error message indicating that the conversation is inaccessible on that device.

Note: a device will be considered a new device in the context of encrypted messages, if the Twitter app is re-installed on the device.

Device registration / de-registration

We currently allow a maximum of ten devices per user for encrypted messages. After you have reached the limit, you will not be able to send and receive encrypted messages on any new devices that are logged into Twitter. Also, we don’t support the ability for users to see a list of registered devices or to de-register a registered device.

Verify integrity of conversations

Currently, we do not offer protections against man-in-the-middle attacks. As a result, if someone–for example, a malicious insider, or Twitter itself as a result of a compulsory legal process–were to compromise an encrypted conversation, neither the sender or receiver would know. We are, however, working on mechanisms for a future release that will:

  • allow devices to verify the authenticity of the content and origin of the message (via “signature checks”); and

  • allow a pair of users to verify the devices that have access to their encrypted conversation (via “safety numbers”)



When signature checks and safety numbers are implemented, man-in-the-middle attacks should be difficult, if not impossible, and both senders and recipients should be alerted in the event of an attack. 

Reporting

Currently, it is not possible to report an encrypted message to Twitter due to the encrypted nature of the conversation. It is important to highlight that at this phase encrypted DMs do not allow for media. If you encounter an issue with an encrypted conversation participant, we suggest you file a report about the account itself and our team will take a look. 

To stop someone from sending you encrypted messages:

  1. open the encrypted conversation between you and the participant you wish to block;

  2. tap the information icon to open your Conversation info; and

  3. at the bottom of the screen you have the option to block the account.

Logout and Key backup

If at any time you log out from Twitter, all messages including encrypted messages on your current device will be deleted; this will not impact your other devices.

Currently, we don’t erase the private key from the device on logout. After logging in back on the same device, your device will be able to re-fetch and decrypt the encrypted conversations using the private key that the device had access to before logout. Once we offer the key backup feature, we will start erasing keys on logout. Until then users should exercise caution while using the product on a shared device such as public computers.

Forward Secrecy 

If the private key of a registered device was compromised, an attacker would be able to decrypt all of the encrypted messages that were sent and received by that device. In other words, this implementation is not “forward secure”. Our customers expect their (unencrypted) DM history to be stored in the cloud and downloadable on any device that they are logged into. Unfortunately, this user experience doesn’t work well with forward secure messaging protocols. In order to preserve and extend this user experience to encrypted messages, we decided to forgo forward secrecy. We don’t plan to address this limitation.

Just like a Direct Message, when you delete an encrypted message, it is deleted from your account only, not from the other participant’s inbox. Deleting or leaving an encrypted conversation will not prevent the other person from sending you a Direct Message in the future.

When you delete an encrypted message or conversation (sent or received), the data will be instantly deleted from your device (and soon after from all your other devices). You then will no longer be able to view it. Note that the recipient may still be able to see the encrypted message or conversation you have deleted.

Read More